Crossing the Line – Kerry Wilkinson

12 December 2017
Crossing the Line Book Cover Crossing the Line
Kerry Wilkinson
Daniel, Jessica (Fictitious character)
Pan Macmillan Adult
12 Dec 2017
Kindle
392

A serial killer with a past. A detective with a secret…

Twenty-five years ago, the Stretford Slasher murdered eight women and was locked behind bars for life. But after the notorious serial killer dies in prison, there is a new series of attacks bearing all the hallmarks of the originals. Victims are being targeted in broad daylight and people are scared to go out…

Recently promoted Detective Inspector Jessica Daniel is heading up the investigation. To unmask the culprit, Jessica must first unravel the truth behind decades of secrets. With so many leads, she enlists the help of Detective Superintendent Niall Hambleton – the man who arrested the Stretford Slasher.

Will Jessica be able to connect the crimes before someone else gets hurt? And how far will she go to solve the case?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Rachel Abbott will be hooked by this pacey, addictive crime thriller, guaranteed to keep you turning the pages until the unforgettable ending.

Crossing the Line by Kerry Wilkinson Publication Day BLAST!

I am so excited to be a part of Kerry Wilkinson’s Crossing the Line Publication Day BLAST!  Don’t forget to check with me on Twitter, as I will be retweeting the blog blast posts.  Look at all of the wonderful blogs that will be posting their reviews on Crossing the Line too!  I can’t wait to read them, myself!

Crossing The Line Publication Day Blast

My Review

Holy-crazy-balls, Crossing the Line is by far my favorite Kerry Wilkinson book. And I’m not just saying that because I am part of the Publication Day Blast. It’s for true and for real.

Let me preempt this by saying, you DO NOT need to have read any of the prior books to read Crossing the Line. Sure, it’s #8 in the series, but this functions very well as a stand-alone novel as well.

With that said, I am not going to delve deeply into the book description, as it is laid out at the top of this post.

First of all, very few psychological thrillers make me laugh, and there was quite a bit of humor and sarcasm in this book that made me chuckle out loud. My favorite line:

To call it a shithole would insult any holes that had been dug in the ground and filled with shit.

And some of the characters – PC Pen-Thief. Joy Bag Jane. Laughed. Out. Loud. A lot.

The pacing of the book was pretty solid. The first half of Crossing the Line was chugging up the hill slowly. Then, at approximately 60%, the train crests the top, and you go zipping downward – crashing into a pile of “What The Hell.”

As the book goes on…

Things seem like they are coming together, but are they? At about 75% I was beginning to wonder if there were going to be loose ends. There was a particular character that I enjoyed following, but hadn’t heard much about him near the end. BUT alas, he arrived again. I am delighted to report that this is a neat and tidy book with no loose ends leaving you to wonder. Loose ends make me cringe.

The only loose end is the cliffhanger at the end. I’m not reading the intro to the next book. I plan on going in blind b/c that how much I don’t want any spoilers! LOL

Kerry Wilkinson had a lot going on in this book. It’s all a good thing because it indeed kept me engaged the entire time.

From start to finish, Crossing the Line was a joy to read. After reading The Killer Inside, I stated my investment in the Jessica Daniel Series, and I still stand by that. I absolutely cannot wait to devour the rest of the series. The rebel in me doesn’t want to read any of them in any particular order, either. (That’s a lot of badassery for someone with OCD!)

5-sarcasm-humor-stars.  You can purchase your copy of Crossing The Line by Kerry Wilkinson at amazon.com.

 

Thank you to Bookouture, Kerry Wilkinson and NetGalley for providing an advanced copy for my review.  My opinions are solely my own.


Crossing The Line - Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson’s BIO

Kerry WilkinsonKerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Upcoming US releases:
Behind Closed Doors (Jessica Daniel 7): Out now
Two Sisters (standalone): Out now
The Girl Who Came Back (standalone): Out now
Crossing The Line (Jessica Daniel 8): December 2017
Scarred For Life (Jessica Daniel 9): late-2017
One Cloudy Night (standalone): Spring 2018
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): June 2018
For Richer, For Poorer (Jessica Daniel 10): 2018
Nothing But Trouble (Jessica Daniel 11): 2018

Author Social Media Links:
http://kerrywilkinson.com or http://facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks

No Comments

Let's Chat

%d bloggers like this: